Updated 27 January 2018

  • Hon Dr. Megan Woods – Minister of Energy and Resources; Minister for Research, Science and Innovation; Minister for Greater Christchurch Regeneration; Minister Responsible for Earthquake Commission; New Zealand


  • Hon Clare Curran – Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media; Minister for Government Digital Services; Associate Minister for ACC; Associate Minister of State Services (Open Government); New Zealand. 


  • Prof. Satoshi Matsuoka – Professor, High Performance Computing Systems Group, Global Scientific Information and Computing Center (GSIC) & Department of Mathematical and Computing Sciences, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan. Leader of the TSUBAME series of supercomputers, recently #1 in the world for power efficiency for both the Green 500 and Green Graph 500 lists. A fellow of the ACM and European ISC, has won the ACM Gordon Bell Prize in 2011, and the 2014 IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award (MW17).


  • Drs. Ruud van der Pas – Distinguished Engineer, SPARC Processor Organization at Oracle, Santa Clara, California, USA. Coauthor of Using OpenMP: Portable Shared Memory Parallel Programming and Using OpenMP – The Next Step: Affinity, Accelerators, Tasking, and SIMD (MIT Press).


  • Dr. John L. Gustafson is an applied physicist and mathematician who is a Visiting Scientist at A*CRC and Professor at National University of Singapore, where he is directing efforts in Next-Generation Arithmetic. He is a former Director at Intel Labs and former Chief Product Architect at AMD. A pioneer in high-performance computing, he first demonstrated scalable massively parallel performance on real applications in 1988. This became known as Gustafson’s Law, for which he won the inaugural ACM Gordon Bell Prize. He is also a recipient of the IEEE Computer Society’s Golden Core Award (MW14-16-17).


  • Dr. Mohamad S El-Zein – John Deere Fellow, Advanced Materials and Mechanics. Mohamad is the Manager of Advanced Materials and Mechanics at John Deere & Company, Moline, Illinois, USA


  • Dr. Dan Stanzione – Executive Director of the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) at The University of Texas at Austin, USA. Stanzione is also the PI of TACC systems Stampede2 (ranked #12 in the Nov2017 Top500 list) and Wrangler, a supercomputer for data-focused applications. He was co-director of CyVerse, a large-scale NSF life sciences cyber-infrastructure.


  • Dr. Vicki Compton – Principal Adviser in the Policy & Trade Branch of the Ministry for Primary Industries, Wellington, New Zealand. Vicki provides advice and guidance in the area of future science, technology and education needs of the primary sector.


  • Drs. Martin Hilgeman – EMEA Technical Director, High Performance Computing (HPC), Dell EMC, Amsterdam, Netherlands. Martin is involved with the design of HPC solutions on Dell EMC hardware, with the low level solution packaged into business friendly format (MW16)


  • Prof. Bruce Mellado – National Contact Physicist of South Africa at the ATLAS experiment (CERN). Chairman of the South Africa group at ATLAS. Director of the High throughout electronics laboratory at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa




  • Prof. Ian Yule – Professor in Precision Agriculture, Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand. Ian is currently the President Elect of the International Society for Precision Agriculture. He established the New Zealand Centre for Precision Agriculture in 2001.


  • Dr. Mark Moir – Architect, Oracle, USA – New Zealand. Mark is giving a talk in every Multicore World since its creation. His traditional research interests concern practical and theoretical aspects of concurrent, distributed, and real-time computing, with a particular focus on hardware and software mechanisms for making it easier to develop scalable, efficient, and correct concurrent programs for shared-memory multiprocessors. (MW12-13-14-15-16-17)


  • Piers Harding – Senior Solution Architect, Catalyst IT, Auckland, New Zealand. Leading Systems Architecture for NZ SKA Alliance (NZA) Science Data Processor (SDP-COMP) Middleware (MW17)


  • Robert O’Brien – Distributed systems engineer and financial cryptographer, Tauranga, New Zealand (MW16).


  • Dr. Andrew Ensor – Director, New Zealand Square Kilometre Array Alliance (NZA) (MW13-14-15-16-17)


  • Nick Thorne – Research Engineer, Texas Advanced Computing Centre, Austin, Texas, USA


  • Dr. Richard O’Keefe – Research Lead, Open Parallel Ltd, Dunedin, New Zealand. O’Keefe is a computer scientist best known for writing the influential book on Prolog programming, The Craft of Prolog.  Previously he was a lecturer and researcher at the Department of Computer Science at the University of Otago in Dunedin, and concentrates on languages for logic programming and functional programming (including Prolog, Haskell, and Erlang). (MW13-16)


Nicolas Happy MW17


full list here